OGAE International Bureau

The “Bureau” is elected every two years by the member club presidents, and is responsible for the day-to-day administration of OGAE International and the coordination of activities between the various national clubs.

The Bureau consists of 7 members: a President, Secretary and Treasurer along with 4 bureau members.  The current members of the Bureau are:

IMG_9149Simon Bennett (OGAE UK) – President

Based in London, Simon was elected President by the Vienna Presidents’ meeting in 2015 having already served  4 years as a Bureau member.  He has been an active member of OGAE UK for almost 20 years and a Eurovision fan for more than 40 years.  He first attended a live ESC in 1998 in Birmingham and has been to every contest since 1999. He is based in London where he worked for many years in the financial sector before changing career to become a tour guide.


Laufey Helga GuðmundsdóttirLaufey Helga Gudmundsdóttir (OGAE Iceland) – Secretary

Laufey was elected to the Bureau as Secretary by the Stockholm Presidents’ Meeting in 2016.  She is based in Reykjavik, where she is a legal advisor at the Icelandic Ministry for the Environment and Natural Resources by day, but a true Eurocraze by night (and pretty much always). As all Icelanders she has followed the Eurovision Song Contest since birth, but the fever really began when she attended her first ESC in Helsinki 2007. She has been a member of FÁSES (OGAE Iceland) since its foundation in 2011 (her membership number is  007!).


Matthieu Kroon-Gutiérrez (OGAE France) – Treasurer

Matthieu has served as Treasurer since 2011 and was instrumental in drawing up the OGAE International statues and in registering the organisation with the French authorities. He is holds dual French and Spanish nationality and is currently based in France.


1796636_10152187110332770_245316149_nKlaus Woryna (OGAE Germany) – Bureau Member

Klaus has served on the Bureau since 2011 and is the current president of OGAE Germany.  He is based in Munich.



Marcus Davey (OGAE Rest of the World) – Bureau Member

In 2015 Marcus became the the first non-European to be elected to the Bureau.  He is an active member of OGAE Rest of the World and is based in Sydney, Australia, where he works as a commercial airline pilot.  Within the Bureau he is responsible for new applicant and candidate clubs, assisting them with the preparation of their applications and monitoring them during their initial membership.


Erik Bolks (OGAE Netherlands) – Bureau Member

Erik was elected to the Bureau in 2015.  He is based in The Hague where he works as a Technical Advisor.


Michal Smrek (OGAE Slovakia) – Bureau Member

Michal was elected to the Bureau in 2017.  Although from Slovakia, Michal is currently working in Sweden.